Free Call: 1300 287 472

National Coastal Wetlands Conservation Grant Program

About the Program

The Coastal Wetlands Planning, Protection and Restoration Act has established the National Coastal Wetlands Conversation Grant (NCWCG) Program to acquire, restore and enhance wetlands in coastal areas through competitive matching grants to eligible State, Commonwealth and Territory agencies.

The primary goal of the NCWCG Program is the long-term conservation of coastal wetland ecosystems. The program uses revenue collected from excise taxes on sport fishing equipment, electric motors and sonar, import duties on fishing tackle, yachts and pleasure craft, and a portion of gasoline tax attributable to motorboats and small engines.

Award Information 

The NCWCG Program provides eligible State agencies with grants for projects that protect and restore valuable coastal wetlands resources. Projects can include:

  • Acquisition of a real property interest (e.g. conservation easement or fee title) in coastal lands or waters from willing sellers or partners for long-term conservation;
  • Restoration, enhancement, or management of coastal wetlands ecosystems; or
  • A combination of acquisition, restoration, enhancement, and management.

All projects must ensure long-term conservation (at least 20 years) of coastal resources.  Applications will be scored and ranked according to the criteria published here.

Approximatley $22 million will be available for grants through the NCWCG program in Fiscal year 2021. Awards will typically range from $125,000 to a maximum of $1,000,000.

Basic Eligibility Requirements

  • Participation is limited to State agencies or entities designated as eligible by the Governor of a coastal State.
  • Complete list of eligible States: Alabama, Alaska, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, Washington, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

For assistance on government grant consultancy, contact us here.